What is needed is a unpredictability factor!

William McGowan

I see so many posts from players who "have reached the end of the game and find it boring now". I believe they have created this problem by the way they approach the game. It is supposed to be about fishing...as we all know fishing is unpredictable in it's nature. How many of you, in real life...go to a lake armed with a map that tells you the exact spot, bait, time to catch a "unique" or Trophy fish?

So we have players who turn the sport of fishing into a task of using a "map" or formula to achieve a "goal" of catching every single fish obtainable and then when that is done they say the game is now "boring!  I have been playing now for a few months and am currently at level 27. I make it a point NOT to watch videos that show me where a certain fish may be found, etc. Instead I approach each lake as I would in real life..looking for likely spots, exploring the surroundings. There is more satisfaction in discovering a sweet spot on your own then there is just following someone elses directions!

I don't use spreadsheets and the like...I try to achieve realism instead. I have caught several Trophy fish this way, although I must admit I have yet to hook a "Uni". But that way, I still have that as a goal...and I would rather discover one by myself, by trial and error than follow a "map" of where they are!